Into the Sea, kap. 5

Jag är så ledsen att jag inte har uppdaterat nått på länge, men jag är sjuk och har ont i huvudet, och när jag har ont i huvudet blir det bara värre om jag sitter vid datan :( Men här får ni i alla fall nästa kapitel av Into the Sea:

Chapter 5

My mouth popped open. Vampires? Is she serious? She has to be kidding me! No she looked very serious, she was telling the truth, I could see it in her eyes. I struggled to speak, I really tried, but my throat was to dry.

“Please, Sam.” Nessie begged. “Say something, believe me.”

I swallowed and cleared my throat and finally I was able to talk. “Nessie, I believe you, it’s just a shock.” I said.

“Are we cool, then? You’re not freaked?” Nessie asked me.

“I’m not freaked, we’re cool.” Then something hit me. “Do you drink blood?” I asked.

“Well, yes, but not human blood, we only drink from animals – that’s why my family has golden eyes, it’s the animal blood. Vamps who drink human blood have red eyes.”

I sighed relieved. “Okay, then we’re cool.”

“Good, ‘cause grandpa think he maybe know what has happened to you.”

“What?” I asked, pretty excited.

“He thinks you’re a mermaid.”

I raised my eyebrows. “A mermaid? He does know I didn’t get a tail or anything, right?”

“Yes.” Nessie rolled her eyes. “Not a fictional mermaid, a real one. My family isn’t like Dracula either. Grandpa have read ‘bout them, but never met one. Apparently it can only exist one in the whole world at ones, and when they first change – like you did yesterday – they stop aging. And when they want to start aging again they give their mermaid-self to a newborn baby, then they start aging and live a normal life and grow old and die. They are fast, great hearing, can see and breathe under water and they get the deep blue tribal tattoo you have.”

Once again my mouth had popped open and I slowly closed it again. “That fits in on what happened…”  I mumbled. “So I’m a mermaid?”

“Oh! And there was one more thing.” Nessie said. “The eyes, when you’re in water they’ll change color to the same deep blue as your tattoo, and your eyelashes will get thicker.”

“That’s why my eyes got cold for a second at the same time I got the tattoo.” I said and Nessie nodded.

“Do you want to tell the rest? Or do you want to keep it a secret?”

“I dunno, what’d you do?” I asked.

“I’d tell them, but I know them better…” Nessie said.

“Okay, we’ll do it like this; we don’t go around saying ‘hey! Sam’s a mermaid’. If someone asks ‘bout my tattoo or my eyes – or something else – we’ll tell them. That means you can tell too, but only if they ask, but on one except of the rest of the group are allowed to know.”

Nessie nodded. “’Kay, let’s go.” She stood up from my bed. “I bet Embry’s getting impatient.”

I hang my bag over my shoulder and opened my bed room door. Nessie followed me out from my room and into the hall. “Bye, I’m going with Nessie to the beach!” I called into the house as me and Nessie went out in the front yard and closed the door.

Embry didn’t ask what we had talked about in my room, instead he and Nessie told me about the rest of their “pack” as they liked to call it – the ones who didn’t go to school anymore. There was Seth’s sister Leah, and Paul, Jared, Sam, his wife Emily, Jared’s girlfriend and Rachel who was engaged to Paul – and apparently Rachel’s Jake’s sister too, I wonder if he’s okay with the fact that one of his friends are engaged to his sister. They told me ‘bout the Leah, Sam, Emily love triangle and that Emily a was Leah and Seth’s cousin. After what happened with Sam Leah had been very bitter and not very friendly, but I felt sorry for her. And they told me that Paul had, had a very short temper before Rachel came to visit Jake and his dad a couple of years ago, but now he was very nice and happy. Jared and Kim had been a couple in about six years now – so as Paul and Rachel. And that is how old Nessie is. I thought.

“Have you ever had a boyfriend?” Nessie asked excitedly as Embry parked his car next to Brady and Collin’s.

“No, I’ve never been really into boys.” I said honestly. I know, I’m lame, I’m 16 and I’ve never had a boyfriend.

“’Never been really into boys’?” Nessie quoted. “Are you gay?” She asked, a little chocked, but not disgusted or anything.

I laughed out loud. “No, I’m not gay. But if I was, I’d totally be all over you.” I joked and bumped my shoulder into hers.

Both Embry and Nessie laughed with me as we joined the others at the beach. I could count up to ten towels lying on the beach. Claire, Kim and Rachel sat on theirs in bikinis in the sand talking and laughing while Rachel put sunscreen on Claire’s back. All the guys – Jared, Paul, Jake, Quil, Seth, Collin and Brady – were up on the cliff. I saw Quil making himself ready to jump and the rest waiting and joking about him being afraid like a girl, but to me, he didn’t looked very scared.

“Hey.” I said as I laid my towel in the sand next to Claire and sat down; Nessie laid her towel in the sand next to Kim and sat down too.

“Hi, guys.” She said.

“What took you guys so long?” Claire asked. “We’ve been waiting like, forever.” She complained.

“I needed to talk to Sam ‘bout something and it took longer than I thought it would.” Nessie said.

“Oh, and Sam, this is Rachel and Kim, you haven’t really met then yet, only said hi yesterday when you had to go.” Claire said.

“Hi, Sam, Claire and Nessie haven’t stopped talkin’ ‘bout you.” Rachel smiled.

I raised my eyebrows at Nessie and Claire but they both looked the other way, pretending they didn’t hear us – I know for sure Nessie heard. Then I smiled back at Rachel. “Hi, Rachel, engaged to Paul and Jake’s sister.”

Rachel nodded. “Yup, that’s me.”

“Any you’re Kim.” I said. “Jared’s girlfriend – not that I know him any better, but, yeah.”

“Hi, Sam.” She said. “New girl in school, live in Forks and crazy ‘bout water.” She smiled smugly.

“They told you that?” I asked, nodding my head towards Nessie and Claire.

“And ‘bout a thousand more.”

“Well, then as me, Sam, the girl whose crazy about water, I’m going to go joining the guys up at the cliff.” I said and stood up. I found my black shorts in my bag and took my jeans and t-shirt of so I only had my bikini and slipped my shorts on. “See ya.” I said as I turned my back to them and started walking up the little path up to the cliff. I heard Claire, Kim and Rachel asking Nessie ‘bout my tattoo. I could really feel the water calling to me. It was like it said Sam, come, you belong in the water.

“Hello.” I said as I made it up on the cliff. All eyes turned to me – well, some of them had already jumped – the ones left were Paul, Jake, Embry, Brady and Seth.

“Hey, Sam.” Seth said. “Are you diving?” He sounded a little doubtful.

I snorted. “I would beat you with my eyes closed and one hand behind my back.”

The rest of the guys “oh”-ed.

I turned to them. “I would kick your asses too.”

“I find that very hard to believe.” Paul said and stood with one raised eyebrow. “Do you even dare to jump?”

“Ha! I dare to dive and do a couple of flips.” I said and took a step forward so I only was a couple of inches away from his chest. He was much bigger than me and I had to tilt my head backwards a little to be able to look up at him. He looked down at me. “I bet 10 bucks that I can do more flips than you can.”

“You’re so on. You can give me the 10 bucks now to make it easier.”

I shook my head. “Nu-huh, you go first.” I gestured towards the edge and he stepped away from me so he could jump. I heard Jake, Embry, Seth and Brady betting with each other about who would win. Seth was the only one who believed I would win. He was about to get 30 bucks richer.

Paul stood at the edge, took a deep breath and threw himself off of the edge. I went to the edge so I could see him. He did three flips before he splashed into the water. When he came up again he looked up at me and looked very satisfied by himself. I rolled my eyes – but I don’t think he could see it from down there – and went to stand by the edge myself. I took a couple of steps backwards and took a deep breath before running towards the edge of the cliff and throwing myself of off the cliff. I did two flips in the air and when I did the last one I quickly jerked my shoulders anticlockwise and took a deep breath as I made myself spin like a screw as I splashed through the water. When I got under water I – for a second – felt the same cold feeling in my eyes as I had yesterday. I swam up to the surface and took another deep breath of air when I got my head out of the water.

Everyone on the beach – except of Paul – had chocked grins on their faces, Paul just looked chocked. Jake, Embry, Seth and Brady up on the cliff looked chocked too, but Seth looked also very smug and I figured that was because he just earned 30 dollars.

“You owe me 10 bucks.” I said to Paul as I made my way out of the water. I felt my eyes go cold again and I figured they went back to normal.

He huffed and glared at me.

“Paul, give Sam her money.” Rachel said in a fake stern voice.

“He can give me them later.” I said. “Now, c’mon.” I whined and pulled one of Claire’s arms and one of Kim’s.

“Whew, you’re dripping of water!” Claire exclaimed and tried to get her arm out of my grip.

“No shit, I just dove from the cliff and into the water but I’m not wet.” I said sarcastically and rolled my eyes at her. “Don’t you guys ever actually are in the water when you’re here? Or do you just sit here on the beach?” I let go of Kim and focused on getting Clair into the water only.

“We usually go swimming a little after a while.” Kim explained.

“But that is so boring!” I complained while laughing. “C’mon!”

“Nu-huh!” Claire laughed. Then it suddenly – for half a second – came a light from my left, like a flash, and I looked up to see Seth grinning down at a camera.

“Hey!” I said and let go of Claire. I marched over to Seth and snapped the camera out of his hands. “What are you doing?” I looked down at the picture. It was me and Claire laughing. Claire sat down – totally dry – at her towel and I held her arm and tried to get her off of the towel – I was dripping wet.

“I’m collecting material for my art work.” He said simply and took the camera back.

“But I wasn’t supposed to be in it, it was supposed to be Claire and Kim.”

“Well, yeah, but you’re going to make me be in your pics, so you’ll have to live with it.”

I rolled my eyes at him and went back to trying to get the girls to come play in the water.

 

We were at the beach much longer than I had thought we would. When it was 5.30 pm everyone was out of the water – even I had made myself to sit in the sand instead. No one had seemed to the thing about my eyes, but I had gotten a few questions ‘bout my tattoo. Nessie still was the only one who knew about my secret, and I was glad I hadn’t had to explain everything to anyone, not even I was so sure about this yet. In the last hour I had heard all the guys stomachs growl several times and once again Quil’s stomach did.

“Hungry, much?” Claire laughed and kissed his cheek.

“Do you think Emily has made dinner?” Embry asked.

“I dunno, someone maybe can go check?” Collin said. Were they all going to go home to Sam and Emily to eat dinner? I mean, they would need very much food.

“Not it!” Quil exclaimed and after that everyone else did the same thing.

“I can go.” I said and stood up. “Which direction?”

“We’ll go with ya.” Claire said as she and Nessie stood up too. Jake gave Nessie a quick kiss on the mouth and then we headed off towards Sam and Emily’s.

We walked through the forest, on a little path. It was really nice walking in the forest, mental note: walk in the forest more often.

“Sam, in the water when we were planning out attack on Nessie and Rachel” – me Claire, Nessie and Rachel had, had a water war – “your eyes seemed a little different. It looked like you had lots and lots of mascara and – I’m not sure, but – it looked like your eyes were a different color…” Claire said.

I stopped abruptly and quickly glanced at Nessie.

“What’s wrong?”  Claire asked and looked at us, confused.

“Um…” Did Claire know Nessie wasn’t human? It would be much easier if she did… “Does she know...? About... you?” I asked Nessie quietly, trying not to make Claire hear.

Nessie nodded.

I turned to Claire. “Um, okay… that’s something that happens when I’m swimming – I don’t know if it’d happen it’s raining or anything – and the reason is... I’m… not human…” I looked down at the ground. I had said the “not human” part extremely fast, so I hoped she herd it.

Claire gasped. Yup, she heard. “Not human…” she mumbled to herself. “What are you then?” She asked. She didn’t sound unsure or anything like that when she asked, she just sounded interested,

“A mermaid.” I said, not as afraid she would run away, screaming, as before. Then Claire looked at Nessie.

“Did you know?” She asked. She sounded hurt.

Nessie looked down at the ground. “Yes…” She whispered.

“Why didn’t anyone tell me?” Now Claire sounded real upset. “Who more knows? Why didn’t you tell me?”

“I promised not to tell anyone.” Nessie still didn’t look at Claire.

“Hey, Claire, it was me who didn’t want anyone to know.” I said. I mean, it wasn’t Nessie’s fault.

Claire turned to me. “Why did you tell her then? Why not me?!” Her voice rose and she almost yelled the last question.

“Claire, please, calm down.” Nessie said. “They’ll hear you.” And that was something I didn’t understand. Who would hear her?

“Why did you tell Nessie and not me?” Clair asked me, ignoring Nessie. She didn’t yell but she still was very upset and her eyes had started to get wet.

“I’m not human, you are.” Nessie whispered. “I could understand better.”

“Did she know about you? Does she know about them?!” Claire shouted at Nessie.

“Know ‘bout who?” I asked and looked at first Claire and then Nessie.

“Keep out of this!” Clare glared at me.

My eyes winded. “It’s because of me you’re shouting at Nessie, for god’s sake!” I yelled back.

Claire turned to me again. “Okay, then! Can you tell me why you didn’t want me to know?! Am I not as important as Nessie since I’m not a magical creature?!”

“Nessie said that she was a good listener so I told her everything that had happened to me and then she just happened to be a half vampire! I didn’t know that when I told her!”

“And then you couldn’t tell me afterwards?!” Claire shouted. Her eyes weren’t wet anymore, now they seemed to burn. She was really pissed, and she had made me pissed too.

In the back of my head I noticed that Nessie ran back towards the beach in inhuman speed, probably to get the others or something.

“Yes, I could, but I didn’t want anyone but Nessie to know!”

“Oh, so I’m just the unimportant human who you don’t need to tell anything?!” Claire shouted at me. “Why don’t you just take your bitchy attitude and go back to where you came from?! You’ve just been a pain in the ass!”

I gasped. Oh, no, she didn’t. She was the one who started yelling just because I wanted to keep the mermaid thing a secret! She’s the one with the bitchy attitude and I know she liked me! She never thought I was a pain in the ass! What she said made me see red and I narrowed my eyes at her. I raised my right hand and slapped her right across her left chin.

I heard several gasps – not only Claire’s – as she put her hand on her chin where I had slapped her. Claire turned around and I looked over her head. There stood Nessie, Quil, Jake and Paul. Quil was shaking like crazy and Jake was trying to hold him back.

“Quil, calm down.” He commanded, but it didn’t seem to help.

“Yeah, right. She hit Claire, I know she’s a 16 year old girl but what would you do if she hit Nessie?” Quil said darkly as he stared at me.  Okay, what did he thing he would do? Kill me? If this mermaid thing was right he won’t be able to catch me.

Quil’s shaking got worse and soon he only was like a blur. Jake, Paul and Nessie backed away from him and Claire backed away from me – a little into the forest, but you could still see her. I didn’t move out of my spot while carefully watching Quil. What the fuck was he doing?

“Sam, get away!” Jake said to me.

“Why?” I wondered.

“He’ll hurt you.”

I snorted. “Because I slapped Claire? She called me a bitch and yelled at Nessie for something that wasn’t her fault!” Then I looked directly at Quil and narrowed my eyes. “She deserved it.”

Quil growled and stopped shaking, instead he exploded. His clothes ripped into pieces and in his place there was now standing a huge chocolate brown wolf.

My eyes winded and I gasped.

The wolf lunged itself forwards – towards me. It was extremely fast. I really hope Carlisle was right. I thought as I ran as fast as I could towards the wolf – and he had been right, I was so fast I shouldn’t have seen anything, everything should just have been a blur, but I saw everything just as clear as if I’d been walking.

The wolf was taken aback so I easily passed it and then Nessie, Jake and Paul as I ran towards the beach. They all looked shocked – even Nessie – as they looked after me. I wasn’t totally sure what I was doing either. I still had my bikini on so I dove into the water and swan about 900 feet out under the water before I stopped and swam back up. Everyone stood by the shore and looked at me as if I was an alien – well, Nessie only looked admiring and interested, but she already knew about this – and again, instead of Quil there was a ginormous chocolate brown wolf. And by the way, why was he a wolf? How did he turn into a wolf? And what was I supposed to do now? I mean, the Quil wolf still looked furious so there was no way in hell I was going back up there, I would just be torn to pieces. And I was still mad at Claire. But who would I get home? Well, I could just get up somewhere else and find my way home – that actually wasn’t the biggest problem – my biggest problem was that if I got home dripping wet in my bikini my parents would flip. I needed my clothes.

 

Så då vet ni att det nog kommer ta ett tag innan nästa kapitel kommer upp eftersom jag inte orkar sitta så mkt och skriva just nu

Elin

Kommentarer
Postat av: SweGizmo

Fin Blogg! :)

2010-08-19 @ 23:57:21
URL: http://swegizmo.blogg.se/

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0